top of page


History has been made as Formula One has a 34th World Champion and its first Dutch World Champion in Max Verstappen only the third driver to stop Lewis Hamilton winning a title. Verstappen is the first driver to win a title not in a Mercedes since 2013 and Sebastian Vettel.

It was an amazing start for Lewis Hamilton with a better start and leads from Max in second with Perez (Red Bull) in third ahead of Norris (McLaren) - Lewis pushes Max wide and will have to give the position back and Perez is ready to take second when that happens.

However two laps later its decided that no investigation was necessary according to the stewards.

On lap 14 Max Verstappen comes in to the pits for what would be his first of three stops in this race - Max comes out in fifth behind Norris but it takes Max just seconds before he is past Lando.

On the next lap Hamilton pits, Perez now leads this race and Hamilton comes back out in second.

On lap 18 Verstappen passes Sainz (Ferrari) for third.

With 30 laps to go Sergio Perez had to fight for the lead with Lewis playing the ultimate team game and allowing Max to catch up with Lewis. On the very next lap Perez then allows Max to pass and its now Hamilton first and Verstappen in second

Lap 27: Raikkonen’s career ends in a DNF. Which is such an unfortunate way for Kimi's career to end.

Lap 28: Russell is out in his final race for Williams before becoming a Mercedes driver in 2022.

Lap 36: Giovinazzi is out. The VSC is deployed and Hamilton is told to stay out. But Verstappen comes in and pits and because of the VSC he will stay in second place.

On lap 38 the VSC ends.

Then this title fight changed when on lap 53 Latifi (Williams) crashes and the Safety Car is deployed.

The following lap Max pits for the soft tyres.

And with one lap left - its decided the back markers are allowed to pass the Safety Car leaving Max the best chance he had all race to win the title.

And on the final lap of the most incredible season and title fight Formula One has possibly ever seen MAX VERSTAPPEN TAKES THE LEAD AND WINS HIS MAIDEN WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP.

Mercedes do however win the Constructors title for a record eighth time in a row.

The next race is Bahrain 2022.


bottom of page